The Association of Towns Awarded the Europe Prize was founded in Udine, Italy, on March 25th, 1984. It is a voluntary network of all towns that were awarded the Europe Prize.

Its objective is to develop closer links between its members. It promotes exchange of information and encourages discussions among the towns awarded the Europe Prize. At least once a year the members of the Association meet in one of the towns awarded the Europe Prize. These meetings provide opportunities to exchange best practices and to develop networks. New contacts are established, and existing relationships are strengthened. The focus is on the promotion of European solidarity and international understanding.

This prize is bestowed upon towns and municipalities which have rendered outstanding services to contribute to development of understanding among nations and people to preserve peace in Europe. Each year the Committee of Ministers of the European Council awards the prize to one or two towns or municipalities.