Krzysztof Matyjaszczyk “The cooperation of Towns Awarded the Europe Prize achieves the goals of the Council of Europe: the need for European unity with the use of economic, social and cultural development
of the Member States of the European Union, as well as
the support of partnership and the youth exchange.

Making the cooperation between the Member States
of the European Union stronger is one of the most important features to keep peace on the continent. We show that cooperation in Europe is possible, as well as engaging
the dialogue or exchanging the experiences.”

Krzysztof Matyjaszczyk, Mayor of Częstochowa

since 2019Krzysztof Matyjaszczyk, Mayor of Czestochowa (Poland)
2015 – 2019Gennadiy Kernes, Mayor of Kharkiv (Ukraine)
2011 – 2015Melih Gökcek, Mayor of Ankara (Turkey)
2007 – 2011Walter Hoffmann, Lord Mayor of Darmstadt (Germany)
2004 – 2007Brigitte Russ-Scherer, Lord Mayor of Tübingen (Germany)
2003 – 2004Tadeusz Wrona, Mayor of Czestochowa (Poland)
2000 – 2003Wieslaw Maras, Mayor of Czestochowa (Poland)
1996 – 2000Dieter Schmidt, Mayor of Braunfels (Germany)
1991 – 1996Kaj Kjaer, Mayor of Aalborg (Denmark)
1989 – 1991Guy Ravier, Mayor of Avignon (France)
1987 – 1989Günther Metzger, Lord Mayor of Darmstadt (Germany)
1985 – 1987Alfred Stingl, Mayor of Graz (Austria)
1984 – 1985Angelo Candolini, Mayor of Udine (Italy)